Making (a little) Money

I’ve been struggling to find a job since I arrived in Portland. Ironically enough, it seems that right now writing is my best bet at making any amount of money.

 

I applied to be an Examiner for http://www.examiner.com, and while the money-making is slow-going and very traffic-based, it’s still got a lot of potential in it. I was asked to be a Sci-Fi TV Examiner, so I’m not sure how many of you would actually be interested in reading anything I write there, but if at the very least you can go to the site regularly, it would be much appreciated. In fact, you can even subscribe to the page and receive alerts each time I post a new article. And anything any of you can do to spread the word would be much appreciated. There’s a social media toolbar on the left of each article where you can “Like” it or “Tweet” it, etc.

 

My Examiner Page

 

Also, I’m hoping to complete a novel for NaNoWriMo in November and sell it as an ebook.

 

Other than that, I’m mostly just checking craigslist and Career Connect every day, applying to any job that fits with my schedule and qualifications, and keeping an eye out. My aunt and her husband have been amazing, surprising me with things like a lamp, salt and pepper shakers, a clothes organizer, and most recently, a microwave! They’re incredibly generous and having these things is like a huge weight being lifted off my shoulders.

 

I still have tuition to worry about and I’m still calling my parents every week asking for money for groceries, but I’ve been praying and asking God to work everything out, so I’m trying to just be patient and have faith. It felt as if all the doors were being opened to get me here, so I just have to have faith that I’m here for a reason and that God will provide (even if it does feel as if all the doors are being slammed shut for some reason, now that I’m here.)

 

Now to somehow block everything else out and focus on writing this novel…

 

Leave a comment